Hedgehog Friendly Campus Awards 2021-22

Hedgehog Friendly Campus is a UK-wide award scheme funded by the British Hedgehog Preservation Society. Teams of staff and students work to apply hedgehog-friendly actions on and around their university, college or school.

HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to all those who achieved their #HFCBronze, #HFCSilver and #HFCGold accreditations for 2021/2022! Don’t see your institution listed and want to get involved? Email info@hedgehogfriendlycampus.co.uk for more information.


The following Universities have achieved Bronze Accreditation (2021/2022):

Bournemouth, Cardiff, Coventry, Cranfield, De Montfort, Hartpury, London School of Economics, Oxford Brookes, Queen Margaret Edinburgh, Royal Veterinary College, Sheffield Hallam, Staffordshire, Bradford, UCLAN, Hertfordshire, Hull, St Andrews, Warwick, Writtle.

The following universities also renewed their Bronze accreditation (2021/2022):

Bristol, Brighton and Sunderland

The following Universities have achieved Silver Accreditation (2021/2022):

Aberystwyth, Bangor, Bath Spa, Birmingham City, Bishop Grosseteste, Cardiff Metropolitan, Durham, Falmouth Exeter Plus, Kingston, Leeds Beckett, Nottingham Trent (Brackehnurst, City and Clifton campuses), Newcastle, Swansea, Chester, Chichester, Derby, Glasgow, Greenwich (Avery Hill, Greenwich and Medway campuses), Huddersfield, Leeds, Nottingham, Salford, Southampton, Stirling, Suffolk, Westminster, Wrexham Glyndwr and York St. John.

The following universities also renewed their Silver accreditation (2021/2022):


The following Universities have achieved Gold Accreditation (2021/2022):

Bristol, Edinburgh, Essex, Fitzwilliam College Cambridge, Keele, Kent, Lincoln, Liverpool, Roehampton, UWE Bristol, Winchester, Worcester, York.

FE Colleges

The following FE Colleges have achieved Bronze Accreditation (2021/2022):

Berkshire College of Agriculture, SMB College (Brooksby Campus), Forth Valley College, Grwp Llandrillo-Menai, Hadlow College, Kendal College, National Star College, Newark College, Sheiling School and Sheiling College, Sparsholt College and University Centre Sparsholt, The Sheffield College.

Primary Schools

The following primary schools have achieved Bronze Accreditation (2021/2022):

Willowtown Primary School, Wool CE Primary School.

The following primary schools have achieved Silver Accreditation (2021/2022):

St Joseph’s RC Primary, Milton Primary Academy, Broadmayne First School.

The following primary schools have achieved Gold Accreditation (2021/2022):

Aspin Park Academy, Abernyte Primary School, Brackenfield School, Ysgol Gynradd Coed-y-Garn Primary School, Harrysmuir Primary School, Grappenhall Heys Primary School, Grandtully Primary School, Lord Deramore’s Primary School.

Well done all – keep up the good work!